The 2023 Boundary Review

Initial Proposals for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) has published its initial proposals for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries. 

The Commission is required by legislation to ensure that the number of electors in each constituency is more equal; in doing so, the number of constituencies in England will increase from 533 to 543.

The proposals and maps for the nine English regions have been published and the BCE is holding an eight-week public consultation which runs from 8 June to 2nd August 2021. This will be the first time the public will get a chance to see what their new constituencies might look like, and give the Commission their views on the proposals.

It is easy for the public to have their say. 

By visiting the BCE’s online consultation portal,, you can: 

  • View the map of proposed constituencies 
  • Provide feedback on the new boundary lines 
  • Share your views on proposed new constituency names

There are a number of changes proposed to constituencies in our area, including:

  • The Mole Valley constituency will be renamed as the Dorking and Horley constituency.
  • Leatherhead North and Leatherhead South are currently part of the Mole Valley constituency– it is proposed these move to the Epsom & Ewell constituency.
  • East Horsley (South), East Horsley (Central), Effingham Junction, Effingham (North), Effingham (South), West Horsley (North), West Horsley (South), East Clandon, West Clandon, Ockham, Ripley, Wisley and Send are currently part of the Mole Valley constituency – they are proposed to move to the Guildford County constituency.
  • The wards of St Martha, Albury, Shere, Peaslake and Holmbury St Mary are part of the Mole Valley constituency and it is proposed that they move to the Godalming and Ash County constituency.
  • South Park and Woodhatch, Horley West and Sidlow, Horley East and Salfords and Horley Central and South wards are currently within the Reigate constituency or East Surrey Constituency. They are proposed to move to the Dorking and Horley constituency. 

The changes do not affect council services or local authority boundaries.

Any constituents who are unable to get online can view the initial proposals for new constituency boundaries at Dorking Library. Copies are also available in neighbouring constituencies at Reigate, Epsom and Guildford libraries. 

Responses can be submitted by email to or by letter to Boundary Commission for England, 35 Great Smith Street, London, SW1P 3BQ.  

There will be a further two rounds of consultation in 2022. The Commission will then look at all the evidence received and form its final recommendations. These will be submitted to Parliament by 1 July 2023. If agreed, the new constituencies take effect at the next General Election.


Why are you reviewing constituency boundaries?

We have been asked by Parliament to review constituencies in England to ensure that there is a more even distribution of electors across them. Due to population changes since the last review, the number of electors in some constituencies is much higher than in others. The 2023 Boundary Review, which was launched in January this year, will make the number of electors in each constituency more equal, thus ensuring individual votes are of broadly equal weight. In making these required changes, the number of constituencies in England must increase from 533 to 543.

How do you work out the proposed changes to boundaries?

The Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2020 requires the Commission to base this review on electorate data from 2 March 2020. According to the UK’s electorate figures published on 5 January 2021 by the Office for National Statistics, each constituency that we recommend must contain no less than 69,724 Parliamentary electors, and no more than 77,062 (except two ‘protected’ constituencies for the Isle of Wight).This is essentially the mean average number of electors for each constituency. England will be allocated 543 constituencies for the new review, which constitutes an increase of ten constituencies.

Will my MP or constituency be affected by the boundary changes?

The number of constituencies in England will increase from 533 to 543, and each will need to have a similar number of electors. To implement these requirements, there will be wide scale change to the majority of constituencies. View the proposals online at for your particular area to find out more.

When would the proposed changes take effect?

The Boundary Commission will make its final recommendations to Parliament by 1 July 2023. The Government must turn the recommendations of the BCE (and those of the equivalent Commissions for the other three parts of the UK) into an ‘Order in Council’ that implements the recommendations. The constituencies set out in the Order will then be implemented for the next General Election after the date on which the legislation is approved.

Will this review favour one political party over another?

The Boundary Commission for England is independent and impartial and will not take into account patterns of voting or the results of elections when reviewing constituency boundaries. Nor do the political parties’ views on where boundaries should be have any more weight than those of members of the public.

How long will the review last?

Initial proposals are published on 8 June 2021, with final recommendations submitted to Parliament in the summer of 2023.

Why do you need my views?

We want to make sure that the final recommendations have taken local views and knowledge into consideration.

How can I share my views?

You can visit to view the proposed map of constituencies and share your views.

Will the changes affect my local council services, bin collections or schools, for example?

No. The boundary changes only relate to Parliamentary constituencies (the area an MP is elected to represent in Parliament). Services and council tax in your local area are set by your local authority and this review does not change local authority boundaries.

When will the new constituencies take effect?

After the final report from all four Parliamentary Boundary Commissions has been laid by the Speaker, the Government is required to submit to the Privy Council an Order that gives effect to all four Commissions’ recommendations. After the Privy Council approves the Order, the new constituencies take effect at the next General Election. Any by-elections held in the meantime have to be held on the basis of the old (existing) constituencies.

Will the name of my constituency change following the review?

Possibly. As well as looking at where the boundaries of constituencies should be, the BCE will recommend a specific name for each constituency. Generally, the more a constituency has changed, the more likely it is that the BCE will recommend a change of name. The Commission welcomes views on the naming of proposed constituencies during the consultation.