Development Management Committee Details

The Development Management Committee usually meets on the first Wednesday of every month to consider planning applications that are not decided by officers under delegated powers. The applications considered normally consist of more complex, sensitive and larger scale planning matters that affect the district.

Meetings of the Development Management Committee are held in the Council Chamber at Mole Valley District Council's Pippbrook Offices in Dorking and commence at 7pm. Members of the public interested in attending can access the building via the Reigate Road entrance, opposite Dorking Sports Centre. Webcasts of recent council meetings can be viewed by visiting the Webcasting page (see 'Related Pages').

2021/2022 Development Management Committee Members

The composition of the Committee for 2021/2022 is:

Liberal Democrat

  • Roger Adams
  • Lesley Bushnell
  • Nancy Goodacre
  • Raj Haque
  • Rosemary Hobbs
  • Bridget Kendrick
  • Claire Malcomson
  • David Preedy (C)
  • Keira Vyvyan-Robinson
  • Nick Wright


  • Simon Budd
  • Sarah Chambers
  • Helyn Clack
  • James Friend
  • Mary Huggins
  • Richard Moyse


  • Mary Cooper
  • David Harper (VC)
  • Patricia Wiltshire

For a full listing of Mole Valley District councillors, please visit Your Local Councillor page (see 'Related Pages').

Speaking at a committee meeting

For planning applications where there are 20 or more letters of objection or a petition of at least 50 signatures objecting to an application (in both cases from different households) MVDC allows people to speak to the committee. This will apply to applications where the officers' recommendation is either for approval or refusal.

Normally, views in support of an application are represented by the applicant. However, there is an opportunity for a representative of supporters to speak in cases where there are at least 20 letters of support, or 50 signatures on a petition, and the application is recommended for refusal.

If you wish to speak you should make your request to the Planning department by no later than 4pm on the second working day preceding the meeting. Speakers should arrive at the Council Chamber by 6.45pm.

For more information, please view the Speaking to the Committee leaflet (see 'Downloads').